This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Tibagi, Paraná (Brazil)

Last modified: 2012-03-16 by ian macdonald
Keywords: parana | tibagi |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

Tibagi, PR (Brazil) image located by Ivan Sache, 29 February 2012

See also:

About the Flag

The Flag of Tibagi is a green-white-green descending diagonal triband with the arms in the center on the white band.  According to it was introduced 9 February 1988 by Law No. 1.155.

The municipality of Tibagi (19,332 inhabitants in 2010; 3,109 sq. km) is located in central east Paraná, 230 km of Curitiba. The municipality is made of the town of Tibagi proper and of the districts of Caetano Mendes and Alto do Amparo. Tibagi is named for the sinuous river Tibagi, known in the 18th century as "the marvellous river" or "the true eldorado". Gold, diamond and gems transported by the river attracted all kinds of adventurers; the first permanent settlement established in the region seems to date back to 1782, when Antônio Machado Ribeiro, aka Machadinho ("The Man with the Hatchet"), moved with his family from São Paulo to the Fortaleza estate, owned by his associate José Felix da Silva; subsequently, Machadinho moved again to the banks of the river, on the today's site of the town of Tibagi. Ana Beja, Machadinho's niece, built the chapel that was the center of the emerging town. Law No. 15 of 6 March 1846 established the parish of Tibagi. The municipality of Tibagi was established by Law No. 302 of 18 March 1872 and inaugurated on 10 January 1873. Since then, several new municipalities have been established in the Paraná's "New North", which significantly decreased the area of the municipal territory

The symbols of Tibagi are prescribed by Municipal Law No. 1,155 of 9 February 1988.

Ivan Sache, 29 February, 2012