This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Luedersdorf municipality (Germany)

Gemeinde Lüdersdorf, Nordwestmecklenburg County, Mecklenburg-West Pomerania

Last modified: 2017-11-11 by klaus-michael schneider
Keywords: luedersdorf |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Lüdersdorf flag] 3:5 image by Jens Pattke, 8 Jun 2008
adopted on 9 May 2008

See also:

Lüdersdorf municipality

The municipality of Lüdersdorf (5,042 inhabitants on 31 December 2006;  54.24 sq. km), located on the border with Schleswig-Holstein (and  therefore on the former border border between FRG and GDR, on the  Eastern side) is the biggest municipality of the Landkreis Nordwestmecklenburg.

According to "MV Regio", 10 May 2008, Lüdersdorf adopted a flag and  coat of arms on 9 May 2008. The grant of arms was officially  transferred by the Minister of the Interior Lorenz Caffier and the arms will be registered under No 317 in the roll of arms of Mecklenburg- West Pomerania.

The coat of arms of Lüdersdorf is "Per pale wavy argent, 1. Gules a cross argent surmounted by a crown or, 2. Azure nine flowers or, 3 + 3 + 3, surmounting a cogwheel of the same".
The wavy pale represents river Wakenitz, which forms the western border of the municipality, here the border between Meclklenburg-West Pomerania and Schleswig-Holstein.
The cross and crown recall that the villages forming Lüdersdorf once belonged to the former Bishopric of Ratzeburg, which was transformed at the end of the Thirty Years' War into the westernmost principality of the Duchy of Mecklenburg.
The cogwheel represents the local industry, while the nine flowers stand for the nine villages forming Lüdersdorf.
Ivan Sache, 6 Jun 2008

The municipality of Lüdersdorf adopted a flag and coat of arms on 9 May 2008. I have added to the website a report about Lüdersdorf. A description of flag and CoA are here (in German).
Original source was: this website.
Jens Pattke, 8 Jun 2008

Lüdersdorf CoA

[Lüdersdorf coat of arms] image by Jens Pattke, 8 Jun 2008
adopted on 9 May 2008