This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Lüchow-Dannenberg county (Germany)

Landkreis Lüchow-Dannenberg, Lower Saxony

Last modified: 2017-11-11 by klaus-michael schneider
Keywords: luechow-dannenberg |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Lüchow-Dannenberg County flag] 2:3 image by Jörg Majewski, 29 Dec 2007
Flag adopted 20 May 1999

See also:

Lüchow-Dannenberg county

County: Lüchow-Dannenberg [Luechow-Dannenberg]
county seat: Lüchow (Wendland) [Luechow (Wendland)]
area: 1,220.46 qkm
population: 50,878
divisions: 27 municipalities, incl. 27 in 3 Samtgemeinden*, 5 towns
*A "Samtgemeinde" (SG*), also called "collective municipality" is a combination of several municipalities to an administrative community  in Lower Saxony.
Jörg Majewski, 29 Dec 2007


[Lüchow-Dannenberg County arms] image by Jörg Majewski, 29 Dec 2007
adopted 24 Jul 1935

Additions : 1932 Lüchow, Dannenberg
The arms were granted on 24 July 1935.
The right half shows the canting arms of Dannenberg (or pine-mountain). The diamonds are taken from the arms of the former Counts of Lüchow.
Literature : Stadler, K. : Deutsche Wappen - Bundesrepublik Deutschland. Angelsachsen Verlag, 1964-1971, 8 volumes.
Source: Ralf Hartemink.