This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Oldenburg county (Germany)

Landkreis Oldenburg, Lower Saxony

Last modified: 2017-11-11 by klaus-michael schneider
Keywords: oldenburg |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Oldenburg County flag] 3:5 image by Jörg Majewski, 2 Jan 2008
Flag adopted 9 Aug 1967

See also:

Oldenburg county

County: Oldenburg
county seat: Wildeshausen
area: 1,063.07 qkm
population: 125,949
divisions: 15 municipalities, incl. 8 in 1 Samtgemeinde, 1 town
Flag adopted 9th August 1967
CoA adopted 27th October 1965
*A "Samtgemeinde" (SG*), also called "collective municipality" is a combination of several municipalities to an administrative community  in Lower Saxony.
Jörg Majewski, 2 Jan 2008


[Oldenburg County arms] image by Jörg Majewski, 2 Jan 2008
adopted 27 Oct 1965

The arms were granted in 1965.
The state of Oldenburg was a free state and became part of Niedersachsen in 1946. Until 1965 the (non-official) arms used by the district were idential to the old arms of the Free State of Oldenburg (image below), showing the bars of the oldest arms of Oldenburg and the cross of the former Delmenhorst county. The base shows the three roses of the Wildeshausen branch of the Oldenburg dynasty.
Literature : Stadler, K. : Deutsche Wappen - Bundesrepublik Deutschland. Angelsachsen Verlag, 1964-1971, 8 volumes.
Source: Ralf Hartemink.