This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Verden county (Germany)

Landkreis Verden, Lower Saxony

Last modified: 2017-11-11 by klaus-michael schneider
Keywords: verden |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Verden County flag] 2:3 image by Jörg Majewski, 11 Jan 2008
Flag adopted 20 Aug 1980

See also:

Verden county

County: Verden
county seat: Verden (Aller)
area: 787.70 qkm
population: 133,965
divisions: 11 municipalities, incl. 4 in 1 Samtgemeinde*, 1 city, 1 town
Flag adopted 20th August 1980
CoA adopted 14th August 1948
*A "Samtgemeinde" (SG*), also called "collective municipality" is a combination of several municipalities to an administrative community  in Lower Saxony.
Jörg Majewski, 11 Jan 2008


[Verden county arms] image by Jörg Majewski, 11 Jan 2008
adopted 14 Aug 1948

The arms were granted on August 14, 1948.
The upper part shows a horse as a symbol borth for the present State of Niedersachsen, as for the Kingdom of Hannover, to which the district belonged. The wavy bar symbolises the Weser and Aller rivers. The base symbolises the agricultural character of the district.
Literature : Stadler, K. : Deutsche Wappen - Bundesrepublik Deutschland. Angelsachsen Verlag, 1964-1971, 8 volumes.
Source: Ralf Hartemink.