This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Wolfenbüttel county (Germany)

Landkreis Wolfenbüttel, Lower Saxony

Last modified: 2017-11-11 by klaus-michael schneider
Keywords: wolfenbüttel |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Wolfenbüttel County flag] 3:5 image by Jörg Majewski, 14 Jan 2008
Flag adopted 8 Oct 1965

See also:

Wolfenbüttel county

County: Wolfenbüttel [Wolfenbuettel]
county seat: Wolfenbüttel [Wolfenbuettel]
area: 722.50 qkm
population: 125,412
divisions: 37 municipalities, incl. 35 in 6 Samtgemeinden*, 1 city, 2 towns
Flag adopted 8th October 1965
CoA adopted 8th October 1954
*A "Samtgemeinde" (SG*), also called "collective municipality" is a combination of several municipalities to an administrative community  in Lower Saxony.
Jörg Majewski, 14 Jan 2008


[Wolfenbüttel county arms] image by Jörg Majewski, 14 Jan 2008
adopted 8 Oct 1954

The arms were granted on January 8, 1954.
The lion in the upper part is taken from the arms of the Welfen family, which was the ruling family in the area since the middle of the 13th century. Also, the lion was used by the Dukes of Braunschweig, who ruled the area from 1432-1807.
The lower part symbolises the agricultural character of the district.
Literature : Stadler, K., 1964-1971.
Source: Ralf Hartemink.