This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Partido Popular (Political party, Spain)

PP - People's Party

Last modified: 2016-06-04 by ivan sache
Keywords: partido popular | alianza popular |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

See also:

Presentation of the PP

The PP (website) was founded on 20 January 1989 during the 9th National Congress of the Alianza Popular, which was dubbed the Refoundatiuon Congress.

Esteban Rivera, 25 March 2012

Flag of the PP

The PP uses a light blue flag with the party's emblem in white (photo, or a white flag with the party's logo in blue (seagull) and orange (PP) (photo).
The party's logo (image) was adopted during the 16th Congress of the party, held on 20-22 June 2008. The logo is described in General Disposition 3 of the 2008 Statutes of the PP), as follows: "The 'PP' initials with the inscription 'Partido Popular' (below), with a seagull spreading its wings on top".

Santiago Dotor & Esteban Rivera, 25 March 2012

Former flags of the PP

[Flag]       [Flag]

Former flags of the PP, left, 2001-2008; right, 1993-2001 - Images by Santiago Dotor, 11 December 2001

Former flags used by the PP were white with the party's logo. Originally designed in 1989, the logo was modified in 1993 and on 10 December 2001 (press release).

Santiago Dotor & Esteban Rivera, 25 March 2012

Nuevas Generaciones del Partido Popular


Flag of Nuevas Generaciones del Partido Popular - Image by Jaume Ollé, 8 October 2006

Nuevas Generaciones del Partido Popular is the youth branch of the PP.

Valentin Poposki, 8 October 2006

Alianza Popular


Flag of the AP, 1977-1983 - Image by Francisco Manuel García, 1 October 2003

Alianza Popular was founded on 9 October 1976 by Manuel Fraga along with six other former Francoist ministers, who had served as a government minister under Franco and who had expected to play a key role in post-Franco governments.

During its First National Constitutent Congress, held on 5-7 March 1977, the AP was established as an umbrella organization composed of the following parties:
- RD (Reforma Democratica, Democratic Reform);
- AR (Acción Regional, Regional Action);
- ADE (Acción Democrática Española, Spanish Democratic Action);
- DM (Democracia Social, Spanish Democracy);
- UDPE (Unión Del Pueblo Español, Union of the Spanish People);
- USP (Unión Social Popular, Social People's Union);
- UNE (Unión Nacional Española, Spanish National Union).

The flag of the AP was horizontally divided yellow-red with the party's logo, maode of the red letters "ap" in canton. A new logo (image) was adopted in 1983, which was probably reflected on the flag.

Esteban Rivera, 25 March 2012