This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Eure (Department, France)

Last modified: 2018-06-23 by ivan sache
Keywords: eure |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

See also:

Administrative data

Code: 27
Region: Normandie (Haute-Normandie until 2014)
Traditional province: Normandy
Bordering departments: Calvados, Eure-et-Loir, Oise, Orne, Seine-Maritime, Yvelines, Val-d'Oise

Area: 6,040 km2
Population (2009): 615,234 inhabitants

Préfecture: Évreux
Sous-préfectures: Les Andelys, Bernay
Subdivisions: 3 arrondissements, 43 cantons, 675 communes.

The department is named after river Eure (225 km), tributary of the Seine.

Ivan Sache, 11 November 2009

Communauté d'Agglomération Seine-Eure


Flag of Communauté d'Agglomération Seine-Eure - Image by Olivier Touzeau, 23 May 2014

The Communauté d'Agglomération Seine-Eure is an intermunicipal authority grouping 37 municipalities (all together, 68,802 inhabitants; 318 sq. km; website). The community is named for the two rivers that water its territory.
The authority is seated in Louviers, the biggest municipality of the community (18,332 inh.); the other town in the community is Val-de-Reuil (13,688 inh.). Another four municipalities (Léry, Le Vaudreuil, Pîtres, Pont-de-l'Arche) have between 2,000 and 5,000 inhabitants. Acquigny, Alzay, Andé, Criquebeuf-sur-Seine, Igoville, Incarville, La Haye-Malherbe, Le Manoir, Les Damps, Montaure, Poses and Saint-Pierre-de-Vauvray have between 1,000 and 2,000 inhabitants. The remaining municipalities (Amfréville-sous-les-Monts, Amfréville-sur-Iton, Connelle, Crasville, Herqueville, Heudebouville, La Haye-le-Comte, La Vacherie, Le Mesnil-Jourdain, Martot, Pinterville, Porte-Joie, Quatremare, Saint-Étienne-du Vauvray, Surtauville, Surville, Tosles, and Tournedos-sur-Seine) have between 100 and 1,000 inhabitants.

The Communauté de Communes Seine-Eure was established in 1997 by the three municipalities of Louviers (still the capital of the community), Val-de-Reuil and Icarville. Then made of 22 municipalities, the authority was renamed Communauté d'Agglomération Seine-Eure in 2001. The number of municipalities increased from 29 in 2012 to 37 on 1 January 2013 with the incorporation of the Communauté de Communes Seine-Bord.

The flag of the authority is made of its logo.
Blue represents the river Seine and Eure, while green represents the Bord forest (4,568 ha) and the countryside.
The flag can be seen hoisted on the terre-neuva Marité (photo), whose restoration was partially funded by the Communauté d'Agglomération Seine-et-Eure.

Olivier Touzeau & Ivan Sache, 23 May 2014