This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Nord (Department, France)

Last modified: 2017-03-18 by ivan sache
Keywords: nord |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors


Flag of Nord - Image by Ivan Sache, 18 May 2014

See also:

Administrative data

Code: 59
Region: Hauts-de-France (Nord-Pas de Calais until 2014)
Traditional province: Flanders
Bordering departments: Aisne, Pas-de-Calais, Somme

Area: 5,742 km2
Population (2006): 2,565,257 inhabitants

Préfecture: Lille
Sous-préfectures: Avesnes-sur-Helpe, Cambrai, Douai, Dunkirk, Valenciennes
Subdivisions: 6 arrondissements, 79 cantons, 652 communes.

The department is named ("North") after its geographical situation.
On 1 September 1973, the municipality of Escaufourt, formerly enclaved in the department of Nord, was merged with the municipality of Saint-Souplet (Nord).

Ivan Sache, 14 November 2009

Flag of Nord

The General Council of Nord adopted a new logo in 2011 (official leaflet), and the flag was changed accordingly (photo).
The new logo is made of a rectangular block, in "Nord gray" colour, including the writing "Nord / le Département" in white letters. The position of the text within the block should not be changed. The text is written using the Frutiger font".
The colour specification for "Nord gray" is:

CMYK (%)	64-47-25-5
Pantone 	5415

There is little information about the new logo, except in an interview (L'Observateur du Douaisis; 25 September 2011), of Patrick Kanner, President of the General Council since 31 March 2011. Kanner argues that the former logo of the General Council was not understandable to anybody, while the world "département" is meaningful for the inhabitants. He further added that the new logo is "home made" (I understand, designed by the services of the General Council rather than by a private agency).

Ivan Sache, 18 May 2014

Former flag of the General Council

[Flag of the General Council]

Former flag of the General Council of Nord - Photo by Ivan Sache, taken in Bavay, 2 May 2007

The former flag of the General Council of Nord was yellow with a blue stripe placed vertically along the hoist and another placed horizontally along the bottom of the flag. The yellow rectangle is charged with the logo of the General Council in blue.
The logo of the General Council of Nord is made of a stylized "N" surmounting "Conseil Général / Département du Nord"; the elements are white on a blue background - while blue on yellow on the flag.

Ivan Sache, 17 October 2009

Intermunicipal Authorities

Communauté urbaine Dunkergue Grand Littoral


Flag of the Communauté urbaine Dunkergue Grand Littoral - Image by Olivier Touzeau, 2 March 2017/P>

The Communauté urbaine de Dunkerque, the first voluntary urban authority ever created in France, was established on 1 January 1969 by 12 municipalities: Cappelle-la-Grande, Coudekerque-Branche, Dunkerque, Fort-Mardyck, Grande-Synthe, Leffrinckoucke, Malo-les-Bains, Mardyck, Petite-Synthe, Rosendael, Saint-Pol-sur-Mer, and Téteghem.
Renamed Dunlerque Grand Littoral in 1999, the authority is formed today of 17 municipalities (201,380 inhabitants in 2014, 29,989 ha) : Dunkerque, Armbouts-Cappel, Bourbourg, Bray-Dunes, Cappelle-la-Grande, Coudekerque-Branche, Craywick, Ghyvelde, Grande-Synthe, Grand-Fort-Philippe, Gravelines, Leffrinckoucke, Loon-Plage, Saint-Georges-sur-l'Aa, Spycker, Téteghem-Coudekerque-Village, and Zuydcotte.

The flag of the the Communauté urbaine Dunkergue Grand Littoral is white with the logo of the authority

Olivier Touzeau, 2 March 2017