This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Provence-Alpes-Côte d'Azur (Région, France)

Last modified: 2016-11-13 by ivan sache
Keywords: provence-alpes-cote d'azur |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors


Flag of Region PACA - Image by Pierre Gay, 16 January 1999

See also:

Administrative data

Departments: Alpes-de-Haute-Provence, Hautes-Alpes, Alpes-Maritimes, Bouches-du-Rhône, Var, Vaucluse
Bordering Regions: Occitanie, Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes
Bordering countries: Italy, Monaco
Traditional provinces: Provence, Dauphiné, County of Nice, Comtat Venaissin

Area: 31,400 km2
Population (1995): 4,428,200 inhabitants
Regional prefecture: Marseille

Flag of Region PACA

On 12 January 1999, Michel Vauzelle, President of the Regional Council, presented the Region's new flag. It combines the traditional gold and red vertical stripes of Provence, the dolphin of Dauphiné and the eagle of the County of Nice.

Philippe-Pierre Darras, 18 January 1999

Former flag of Region PACA

[Provence-Alpes-Côte d'Azur]

Former flag of Region PACA - Image by Philippe-Pierre Darras, 18 January 1999

The flag features the map of the region, with the departments represented in different colours, as follows:
- Alpes-de-Haute-Provence: blue;
- Hautes-Alpes: purple;
- Alpes-Maritimes: orange;
- Bouches-du-Rhône: green;
- Var: yellow;
- Vaucluse: red.
The three blue wavy lines represent the Mediterranean Sea.

Ivan Sache, 7 April 2000