This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Kirinyaga County(Kenya)

Last modified: 2019-08-06 by bruce berry
Keywords: kirinyaga | kenya |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

image by Jens Pattke, 20 July 2018 See also:


Kirinyaga County is located in central Kenya.  It was created in 1963 out of the western portion of Embu District and later became part of the Central Province of Kenya.  The capital is Kerugoua/Kutus and the largest town is Wanguru.
Jens Pattke, 20 July 2018

Description of the flag

The county flag is a vertical bicolour of yellow (gold) and green.  In the centre is a triangle, fimbriated in white, with a map of the country in yellow on a black background on the left; and a stylised mountain with three peaks in black on a background divided horizontally yellow over green fimbirated in black on the right. 

According to the Kirinyaga County Flag and other Symbols Bill (2016) (which can be seen here), the diamond motif represents strength, sturdiness and prosperity.  The map in gold represents the wealth of the land and the people against a backdrop of black, also representing the people.  The mountain represents the heritage bequeathed to the Kenyan people in the form of Mount Kenya and the horizon is golden signifying hope and a prosperous future with the green foreground representing the rich agricultural traditions of the inhabitants of the county.

The main colours of gold and green represent wealth and agriculture.
Jens Pattke, 20 July 2018